Shostakovich’s 2nd piano concerto, Mozart’s 29th and Beethoven’s 7th Symphony – a glorious celebration of Ely Sinfonia’s twentieth anniversary!

For the celebration of its twentieth anniversary, Ely Sinfonia welcomed back its long-standing friend, Martin Roscoe, one of the UK’s best loved piano soloists.  A prolific recitalist and chamber musician, Martin has performed all over the world with eminent conductors such as Sir Simon Rattle, Sir Mark Elder and Christoph von Dohnányi.   The only fitting description of the concert is “A triumph”.

The concert began with Mozart’s graceful and energetic 29th symphony, written when he was just 18 years old. This was followed by the piano concerto, which received a standing ovation.  After the interval, we played Beethoven’s magnificent Symphony No 7,  which the audience thoroughly enjoyed – we played it at a cracking pace, but the orchestra rose to the challenge.

To download the poster, click here.

To download the programme, click here.


“No wonder that Verdi’s Requiem is performed so often. This night…we were treated to all the emotionally-packed aria-like melodic material that we know and love from Verdi’s operas, while at the same time, these amazing musicians drew every ounce of religious fervour, excitement and reverence from the score.”

An extract from the review by local music critic Rosemary Westwell of our performance of Verdi’s Requiem with the King’s Lynn Festival Chorus on Saturday 4th May.  It really was an amazing experience for us all, orchestra, singers and audience alike. To take part in this exquisite work in the awesome surroundings of Ely Cathedral was a real privilege.  To read the full review, click here.

See our concert on Spotted in Ely and other websites.

To receive regular updates and full details of all concerts please join our mailing list.


2 May 2020 – Ely Cathedral

  • Berlioz’s Roman Carnival Overture
  • Haydn Cello Concerto with Joshua Lynch as soloist
  • Mahler’s Symphony 1

19 September 2020 – Ely Cathedral

  • Weber’s Invitation to the Dance
  • Colin Riley violin concerto with Philippa Mo as soloist – an Ely Sinfonia commission
  • Brahms’ 4th Symphony

Programmes may be subject to change.